Security & Safety

Sexual Misconduct

Policies on Sex Offenses & Offenders

The FBI defines a sex offense as “any sexual act directed against another person, forcibly and/or against that person’s will; or not forcibly or against the person’s will where the victim is incapable of giving consent.”

Florida College expects its students to treat other persons with respect and dignity. Any behavior that causes the sexual abuse/assault of another person will not be tolerated, is a violation of the college’s code of conduct, and will result in disciplinary action, including suspension. The student handbook, which details policies and procedures regarding this matter, clearly states that our students are to “maintain their moral integrity within personal relationships.” Disciplinary action on the part of the college does not preclude the possibility of criminal charges against the individual.

Florida College educates the student community about sexual assaults and date rape through orientation materials for new students each fall. The Temple Terrace police department offers sexual assault education and information programs to students by means of programs in the residence halls and to employees upon request. Literature on date rape education, risk reduction, and the college’s response is available in the Florida College advising office.

What to do if you are sexually assaulted

Your first priority should be to get to a place of safety and obtain necessary medical treatment. The college urges the reporting of any assault as quickly as possible by calling 911 or by reporting the incident to the residence hall supervisor or the dean of students office. Time is a critical factor for evidence collection and preservation. Filing a report with a police officer does not obligate you to prosecute. Filing a police report will ensure that you receive the necessary medical treatment and tests, provide the opportunity for collection of evidence helpful in prosecution which cannot be obtained later, and assure you of access to free confidential counseling from counselors specifically trained in this area.

Law enforcement strongly recommends you not bathe or douche until you have a medical examination. If you change clothes, law enforcement urges you save what you wore, as that clothing could be used as evidence for prosecution. Place each item of clothing in a separate paper bag for police.

Residence hall supervisors, the dean of students office, and other staff members are willing and able to assist victims in reporting assaults to the proper authorities.

Where can you go for help?

In Hillsborough County, you may call 2-1-1 or 813.234.1234 for free crisis help, information and referral 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Victims of sexual abuse have multiple sources of care available:

  • The Nurse Examiner Program (NEP) nurses provide emergency medical examinations and are key to collecting and preserving evidence. They are prepared and qualified to testify in court.
  • 24-hour Personal Sexual Assault Counseling
  • 24-hour Rape Hotline
  • Support groups provide emotional support for sexual assault victims.

Campus Disciplinary Action Procedures

Florida College’s code of conduct and disciplinary procedures are detailed in the student handbook.

In cases of sexual misconduct, a student found guilty will be suspended from the college and may be prosecuted in the state courts. Student victims of an alleged sexual offense have the option to change their academic and/or on-campus living situations if such changes are reasonably available.

Sexual Offender Registration

The federal Campus Sex Crimes Prevention Act requires colleges and universities to issue a statement advising the campus community where state law enforcement agency information concerning registered sex offenders/predators may be obtained. This information is found on Florida Department of Law Enforcement’s website.  or by calling toll-free 888.357.7332 (Monday–Friday, 8 a.m.–6:30 p.m., EST).

Come see us in person.

Generic filters
Exact matches only
Scroll to Top