New Inductees into Sigma Tau Delta

Sigma Tau Delta was founded in 1924 to recognize high achievement in English language, literature and writing. With over 900 national and international chapters, it is the second largest organization in the Association of College Honor Societies.

The goals and purposes of Sigma Tau Delta include:

  • Conferring distinction for high achievement in literature, writing and English language studies
  • Providing cultural stimulation on college campuses and promoting interest in literature and the English language
  • Fostering all aspects of the discipline of English, including literature, language and writing
    Promoting exemplary character
  • Exhibiting high standards of academic excellence
  • Serving society by fostering literacy

“Together, the four new inductees average a GPA above 3.5 in English courses and, in general scholarship, fall above the top 20% in their respective classes,” Loretta Atherton, chair of the English Department, said. “They have demonstrated the critical thinking and analytical skills necessary for academic success in an intense and rigorous program, one that involves a heavy reading load encompassing a variety of literary periods and genres, as well as extensive writing, including analyzing and critically evaluating the works they study. Their academic success is not only supported by their induction into Sigma Tau Delta but also their membership in Phi Theta Kappa, Alpha Chi and their inclusion in Who’s Who in American Colleges and Universities.”

Officers for 2019–2020 School Year

Emma Stout


Farley Wood


Ashlynn Wilen

Secretary / Treasurer

Congratulations to the new inductees on their academic achievements!

Laura Giles

Gwyneth Carey Hamilton

Madeline Kingry

Alexia Richeson

Generic filters
Exact matches only
Scroll to Top