Faculty Awards

Florida College hosted the annual faculty appreciation dinner at the Temple Terrace Golf & Country Club on Tuesday, Aug. 13, to recognize this year’s faculty award winners and honor retiree Dr. Dan Petty. At this annual event, Florida College recognizes the recipients of the Dean’s Award and the Special Service Award as well as the top-rated lecturing and activities professors.

The recipient of the 2018-2019 Dean’s Award is Loretta Atherton (A.A. ’72), chair of the English and Foreign Languages Department. Last fall, Atherton started a chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, an International English Honor Society, on the Florida College campus and seven students were inducted in the spring.

The two recipients of the 2018-2019 Special Service Award are Dr. Thaxter Dickey and Dr. Tom Hamilton. Dr. Dickey, professor of psychology, received his 40 year service pin and his excellence in the classroom through generations make his teaching almost legendary. His co-recipient, Dr. Hamilton (A.A. ’93), teaches Bible and biblical languages. Dr. Hamilton serves as the faculty representative on the leadership team

Florida College’s top-rated lecturing and activities professors are selected each year based on student evaluations and overall excellence. Factors considered by the students and reviewed by the dean’s office include mastery in the discipline taught, respectful treatment of students, classroom management, overall value of study and effective assessment of the course objectives.

The top-rated lecturing professor for the 2018-2019 academic year is Dr. Brian Crispell. Dr. Crispell is the director for the Center of Academic Excellence and is a professor of history. This is his seventh year to receive this distinction.

The top-rated activities professor for the second consecutive year is Adam Booher. Booher received the highest overall rating on student evaluations. He passionately teaches these students, instilling in them a love of music and learning.

Generic filters
Exact matches only
Scroll to Top